Local Governing Board

At Inspire Academy we have a Local Governing Board (LGB) who work closely with the Executive and Associate Principals along with other Senior Leaders at the Academy.

Inspire Academy is part of Victorious Academies Trust.  You can find out more about the Trust on The Trust page.   The Trust has delegated the role of making key decisions that affect the education and well-being of our pupils to the LGB.  The LGB is vital to the successful running of the Academy.  We have Governors with a wide range of skills and experience forming the LGB at Inspire Academy.

The Governors are involved in:

  • Setting the Academies vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Executive Principal to account for the educational performance of the Academy and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the Academy and making sure money is well spent.

Community and parent representatives form part of our LGB. They are an important link between the local community, parents and the Academy. Parents of pupils at the Academy can elect parent representatives and express their views and make suggestions about the Academy to them.

The Local Governing Body for the 2018 / 2019 academic year is:

  • Karen Burns – Executive Principal (Interim Chair) (appointed September 2015)
  • Louise Byrne – Associate Principal (appointed September 2015)
  • Rebecca Booth – Assistant Principal (appointed September 2015)
  • Ceri McBurnie- Staff Governor (appointed September 2015)
  • Nalini Bhagat – Parent Governor (appointed January 2017)
  • Lesley Fowler – Community Governor (appointed March 2018)
  • Margaret Sidebottom – Community Governor (appointed March 2018)
  • Julie Collins – Trust Governor (appointed March 2019)

The Trust has the attached Scheme of Delegation.  This will be reviewed during the Summer Term with our new Trustees.  The sets the context of the work of the Local Governing Board.

The following committees report to the Local Governing Board:

  • Finance and Resources
  • Pay Review
  • Staff and Pupil Wellbeing
  • Appeals

Governors are required to declare any business interests which they or any member of their immediate family have.

This is a declaration of any personal or business interests they or any relative or person closely connected with them, have with businesses or other organisations that may have dealings with the academy. If any interest a governor has could be seen to cause a conflict of interest they would be asked to withdraw from any decision making concerned.  This is to ensure that our governors can always be seen to be putting the interests of the academy first.

You can contact the Chair of Governors, Karen Burns through the Academy office on 0161 339 7822.

If you would like to help the Academy and share your expertise by becoming a Governor please contact the Executive Principal via the Academy office who can tell you more about what the roles involves.

You can see a copy of our Governor Newsletters here: December 2016 , March 2017 , July 2017December 2017  March 2018 and July 2018.